Florida state

Eight ACC teams selected for NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament

Support | Material (PDF)

GREENSBORO, NC (theACC.com) – Headlining No. 1 seeds Louisville and NC State, eight Atlantic Coast Conference teams have been selected to compete in the 2022 NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament, tied for most of all conferences . Florida State, Georgia Tech, Louisville, Miami, North Carolina, NC State, Notre Dame and Virginia Tech have won bids to participate in this year’s event.

This is the fourth consecutive NCAA tournament where the ACC has selected eight teams, leading all conferences or tied for the conference each year. In the past five NCAA tournaments, ACC teams have earned 39 caps to compete on the court, also the most of any conference.

The ACC is the only conference with two No. 1 seeds and the league has had at least one No. 1 seed in each of the past eight tournaments and 23 times overall. The ACC has had multiple No. 1 seeds in seven tournaments (2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2018, 2019, 2022).

The 2022 championship is the first to have 68 teams. The first four matches will be played on Wednesday March 16 and Thursday March 17 at four of the top 16 host venues. The first and second round matches will be played from Friday March 18 to Monday March 21, with the top 16 seeds.

After winning its third straight ACC Tournament and claiming the ACC regular season crown for the first time in 32 years, NC State (29-3) was awarded the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament for the second consecutive year. The Wolfpack are the top seed in the Bridgeport, Conn. area and are set to open the NCAA Tournament this Saturday (March 19) against No. 16 winner Longwood (21-11)/Mount St. Mary’s (16-12 ) . NC State is making its 27th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and its fifth in a row.

Louisville (25-4) is the No. 1 seed in the Wichita, Kan. area, marking the third time in the past four years (2018, 2019) that the event has taken place, the Cardinals have accomplished the feat. The Cards, making their 24th NCAA appearance and 11th in a row, opened play Friday, March 18 against Albany (23-9).

Florida State (17-13) earned its ninth straight NCAA Tournament selection and 20th overall as of the Spokane, Wash. area and faces Missouri State (24-7) on Thursday, March 17 at 9 p.m. on ESPN2 in Baton Red, Louisiana.

Georgia Tech (21-10) is a No. 9 seed and opens the tournament against No. 8 seed Kansas (20-9) on Friday, March 18 in Stanford, Calif. The Yellow Jackets are dancing for the second consecutive season and the 11th time overall.

Miami (20-12) is the No. 8 seed in the Greensboro (NC) area and faces No. 9 South Florida (24-8) on Friday, March 18 in Columbia, South Carolina. After their first appearance in the ACC Tournament Finals, the Hurricanes are in the NCAA field for the 15th time.

North Carolina (23-6) is the No. 5 seed in the Greensboro area as the Tar Heels make their 29th NCAA appearance. UNC will face No. 12 seed Stephen F. Austin (28-4) on Saturday, March 19 in Tucson, Arizona.

In the Bridgeport area, the No. 5 seed Notre Dame (22-8) opens NCAA action against the No. 12 seed UMass (26-6) in a first-round matchup that held in Norman, Oklahoma. The Fighting Irish are participating in the NCAA Tournament for the 27th time.

Virginia Tech (23-9) makes its second straight appearance and 11th overall, earning the No. 5 seed in the Spokane area. The Hokies will face 12th seed Florida Gulf Coast (29-2) on Friday, March 18 in College Park, Maryland.

The ACC also holds the most NCAA tournament wins (93) of any conference since 2014. The next closest conference has 80. ACC member institutions have won three NCAA championships and made 24 trips in the Final Four. Seven different institutions represented the ACC in the Women’s Final Four.

For the 19th consecutive year, an ESPN channel will broadcast all 67 games of the 2022 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship. This marks the 27th consecutive year (since 1996) ESPN is the exclusive television home for the championship. All games will be available online through the ESPN app. The 2022 NCAA Women’s Final Four is expected to be distributed in over 200 countries around the world.

Regional games will be played March 25-28, with Greensboro, North Carolina (Greensboro Coliseum) and Spokane, Washington (Spokane Veterans Memorial Arena) hosting the regional semifinals and finals on March 25-27, while Bridgeport, Connecticut (Webster Bank Arena) and Wichita, Kansas (Intrust Bank Arena) will host March 26-28.

The Women’s Final Four will be played on Friday, April 1, and the National Championship Game will take place on Sunday, April 3 at Target Center in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Bridgeport (Connecticut) area
Raleigh, North Carolina

#1 NC State vs. #16 Longwood/Mt. St. Mary’s – Saturday March 19

Norman, Okla.
#5 Notre Dame vs. #12 UMass – Saturday, March 19

Greensboro (NC) area

Colombia, South Carolina
#8 Miami vs. #9 South Florida – Friday, March 18

Tucson, Arizona.
#5 North Carolina vs. #12 Stephen F. Austin – Saturday, March 19

Spokane (Washington) area

Stanford, California.
#8 Kansas vs. #9 Georgia Tech – Friday, March 18

College Park, Maryland
#5 Virginia Tech vs. #12 FGCU – Friday, March 18

Baton Rouge, The.
#11 (first four games) Missouri State vs. Florida State – Thursday, 9 p.m. ET, ESPN2

Wichita (Kan.) area

Louisville, Ky.
#1 Louisville vs. #16 Albany – Friday, March 18